How to Become Pilot in India After 12th

Becoming a pilot in India is an exciting and challenging career path.

How to Become Pilot in India

Becoming a pilot in India requires a combination of education, training, and experience to obtain a commercial pilot license (CPL) and fly for airlines or other aviation organizations. In this article, we will discuss the steps to become a pilot in India

Step 1: Educational Qualifications

To become a pilot in India, you must have completed your 10+2 with Physics and Mathematics as compulsory subjects from a recognized board. Some aviation schools and colleges may have additional eligibility criteria, such as a minimum percentage or grade.

Step 2: Medical Certificate

A pilot must be in good physical and mental health to be able to fly an aircraft. Therefore, you must obtain a medical certificate from a designated medical examiner approved by the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA). The medical examination will include tests for eyesight, hearing, blood pressure, cardiovascular health, and mental health.

Step 3: Enroll in a Flying School

After meeting the eligibility criteria and obtaining the medical certificate, the next step is to enroll in a flying school that is approved by the DGCA. There are several flying schools in India that offer pilot training programs. Some of the well-known flying schools in India are:

Indira Gandhi Rashtriya Uran Akademi, Rae Bareli
Indian Aviation Academy, Mumbai
Flytech Aviation Academy, Hyderabad
Rajiv Gandhi Academy for Aviation Technology, Thiruvananthapuram

Step 4: Obtain a Student Pilot License (SPL)

Before you can start flying an aircraft, you must obtain a student pilot license (SPL) from the DGCA. To obtain the SPL, you must have completed at least 16 years of age and have passed the Class 10 examination. You must also undergo a medical examination and complete a ground training program that includes theory classes on air navigation, meteorology, aircraft rules and regulations, etc.

Step 5: Flight Training

Once you have obtained the SPL, you can start your flight training. The flight training program consists of two phases: the private pilot license (PPL) and the commercial pilot license (CPL).

The PPL training involves flying single-engine aircraft and obtaining a minimum of 40 hours of flying experience. After obtaining the PPL, you can fly as a private pilot for leisure or hobby purposes.

The CPL training involves flying multi-engine aircraft and obtaining a minimum of 200 hours of flying experience. The training includes advanced flying techniques, navigation, and emergency procedures. You will also need to undergo a multi-engine rating course and complete a simulator training program.

Step 6: Clear the DGCA Examinations

After completing the flight training, you must clear the DGCA examinations to obtain a CPL. The examinations include a written test, a flight test, and a radio telephony test. You must also obtain an English language proficiency certificate from a designated examiner.

Step 7: Obtain a Commercial Pilot License (CPL)

After passing the DGCA examinations, you will obtain a CPL. With a CPL, you can fly commercial aircraft as a co-pilot for airlines or other aviation organizations. You will need to undergo additional training and obtain a type rating for the aircraft you will be flying.

Step 8: Build Flight Experience

To become a captain or a pilot-in-command of an aircraft, you must have a minimum of 1,500 hours of flying experience. You can build flight experience by working as a co-pilot or a first officer for airlines or other aviation organizations.